PRAYER reminds me…

“I have been driven many times to my knees by the overwhelming
conviction that I had nowhere else to go. My own wisdom,
and that of all about me, seemed insufficient for the day.”
Abraham Lincoln

PRAYER reminds me I am not alone.
“Even when I walk through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me.” Psalm 23:4

PRAYER reminds me there is Someone more powerful on my side.
“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
I have called you by name; you are mine.
When you go through deep waters,
I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
you will not drown.” Isaiah 43:1-2

PRAYER reminds me of the goodness and promises of God.
“Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house
of the LORD Forever.” Psalm 23:6

PRAYER reminds me of God’s faithfulness in the past.
“He reached down from heaven and rescued me;
he drew me out of deep waters.
He rescued me from my powerful enemies,
from those who hated me and were too strong for me.
He led me to a place of safety;
he rescued me because he delights in me.” Psalm 18:16-19

PRAYER reminds me that I can overcome temptation.
“The temptations in your life are no different
from what others experience. And God is faithful.
He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand.
When you are tempted, he will show you a way out
so that you can endure.” 1 Corinthians 10:13

PRAYER reminds me of God’s forgiveness.
“He has removed our sins as far from us as the east is from the west.” Psalm 103:12

PRAYER reminds me of the part I play in my requests.
“Show me the right path, O LORD;
point out the road for me to follow.” Psalm 25:4

PRAYER reminds me of whom I should serve.
“Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.” Matthew 25:40

PRAYER reminds me that God’s ways are not my ways.
“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the LORD.
“And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.” Isaiah 55:8

PRAYER reminds me that God is more concerned about my character than my comfort.
“I will take action against you. I will purify you
the way metal is refined, and will remove all your impurity.” Isaiah 1:25

PRAYER reminds me of how I am supposed to fast.
“No, this is the kind of fasting I want:
Free those who are wrongly imprisoned;
lighten the burden of those who work for you.
Let the oppressed go free,
and remove the chains that bind people.
Share your food with the hungry,
and give shelter to the homeless.
Give clothes to those who need them,
and do not hide from relatives who need your help.” Isaiah 58:6-7

PRAYER reminds me of my priorities.
But more than anything else, put God’s work first and do what he wants.
Then the other things will be yours as well.” Matthew 6:33

PRAYER reminds me that God finishes what he starts.
“And I am certain that God,
who began the good work within you,
will continue his work until it is finally finished
on the day when Christ Jesus returns.” Philippians 1:6

PRAYER reminds me how much God loves this tired, old world.
“For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son,
so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.
God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world,
but to save the world through him.” John 3:16-17

ultimately…
PRAYER reminds me how I should pray.
“Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive our debtors.
And do not lead us into temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one.
For Yours is the kingdom and the power
and the glory forever. Amen.” Matthew 6:9-13

4 thoughts on “PRAYER reminds me…

  1. I must say the Lord’s prayer 1000 times a day. Prayer comforts me, and give me strength. Thank you for your awesome blogs. keeps me focused on the right things and takes my mind off my silly little issues. God Bless you, Ken

  2. Wow you really captured the amazing power of prayer. I especially liked how it makes me feel that I am not alone, someone more powerful is on my side! Thanks, Ron

  3. Wow!! This one already got copy pasted and up on the walls of the food bank. We so often need these reminders in the day to day busyness of life. I am grateful for a wonderful Pastor with a heart after God’s very own, He sent into my work day path and my life won’t ever be the same! Your transparency gives me hope, inspires me and picks me up when I’m feeling down in this dark world.

Leave a comment